@Wheelchair_Dave


Dave is a contact I have made on Twitter. This is his tale
wheel_Dave
Dave’s Story ………
I’ve always had a keen interest in the great outdoors , before my accident
Spending most weekends either hiking , or in the warmer months camping with my family and friends.
My daughter now 12 years old has always been the outdoorsy type, and also been very keen to learn about nature , wildlife and birdwatching , which I’ve always enjoyed sharing and encouraging her to learn with her.
Dave and his daughter
Living near Morecambe Bay , we are spoilt for choice for beautiful countryside within easy travelling distance , the Yorkshire Dales  to the east of us , the Lake District just to the north of us and not forgetting the Trough of Bowland just to the south of us.
You never know whats around the next corner in life , I was happily working and enjoying our family’s love of the outdoors in our spare time
BUT THEN …….
One shift at work I had an accident,I fell backwards from a lorry , and the metal forks forks of a fork lift truck which was by the side of the lorry , broke my fall , catching the lower spine area (lumbar & sacral) of my back
I was unable to move at all and left work in an ambulance that day
The fall has left me with severe post traumatic arthritis of the spine and has caused some nerve damage which affects my left hand side of my body and  gives me chronic pain
This  has left me with mobilty problems and now needing a wheelchair to get about, and a rather large cocktail of medication to get through each day
A number of hospital stays , scans , pain management etc , is a big part of my life now and  my weekly hydrotherapy pool session is beneficial , helping to get some movement going , movement that I’m unable to do ” on dry land”.
I ,for one , refuse to let this get me down , it’s happened , life goes on ………. It did at first, (I’m only human)
With planning we can still enjoy the outdoors as a family , to a degree.
A whole wealth of information on websites regarding accessible routes is out there, waiting to be explored .
Our local RSPB nature reserve , Leighton Moss at Silverdale has 2 new hides for bird/ wildlife watching , and I’m pleased to report they have considered the disabled and provided wheelchair access to the hides .
I wish Deb every success , in her fundraising to provide a Tramper all-terrain mobility scooter in the Dales , so others can share and enjoy her love of the Dales , a most beautiful part of the country
Enjoying the outdoors
With Regards
Dave
PS: I’ve applied for an assistance dog caninepartners.org.uk If successful, I do hope it will enjoy our trails
One response to this post.

  1. Hi Dave This is great, you have a lovely family looking forward to seeing you all again next month. xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

