Wensleydale


*The 2008 Yorkshire Dales National Park Authority Customer Satisfaction Survey found that 8% of respondents described themselves as permanently sick or disabled.  From 1 October 2010, the Equality Act replaced most of the Disability Discrimination Act (DDA). However, the Disability Equality Duty in the DDA continues to apply, which is based on the principle that people with disabilities should not, for a reason related to their disability,  be treated less favourably than other.

The Yorkshire Dales National Park are working hard to complete the audit of the rights of way network within the Yorkshire Dales, based on the guidelines produced by the Countryside Agency.

I hope that my project ‘accessthedales’ will be able to support this good work.

Andy and I are looking forward to spending three days in Wensleydale next week. We are taking a friend with us who knows very little about the Dales.

We are staying in a self catering cottage in Bainbridge, and we are planning on preparing two or three wheelchair friendly routes. I am really very excited, as since staring this project, we haven’t actually been out walking yet!

I am looking forward to a visit to Aysgarth Falls, which is featured in the ‘Access for All’ booklet.

This time I am taking my motorised wheelchair…. I must get into the habit of calling it a motorised chair… it sounds so much better than an ‘electric chair’!

It's an uphill struggle!

I have the ‘Access for all -Wensleydale’ booklet, provided by the Yorkshire Dales National Park, which has some very interesting information (especially the location of toilets!)

Does anyone have an orienteering map of this area? As an ex- orienteer myself, I know these maps have far more detail on them than our OS map and I was wondering if they would be useful for identifying gates and stiles.

If you own a pub, cafe, B&B  or any other public service in the Bainbridge/Hawes area and would be happy for me to visit and  write a short review of your disability facilities, I would be more than happy to do so.  Please contact me at accessthedales@gmail.com, or leave a comment on this blog site.

*Information provided Yorkshire Dales National Parks Authority document ‘Special Qualities, Special Experiences’

Watch out - Debs is on the loose again!

Leave a Reply

